Pro-log

Several months into my Second Life (A virtual world when the participants are content creators), I washed up on an  island in pirate waters. It was a bare rock and after a few weeks I asked the landlord if they could spare a few prims (primitives – content  building blocks)  for landscaping. I really enjoyed greening up that island, and soon I was dreaming of an island of my own. Land in  SL is expensive – 125 USD for a homestead island.  That is a lot of money for a hobby and way out of my entertainment  budget.  SL has a marketplace, so I decided to sell the plants I made to offset the cost of the game. I kept on growing my garden business hoping it would pay for my “someday sim”  but no such luck. Even with the garden center I was still putting money into SL.   If a friend did not subsidize me by lending me his unused land and prims I would’not have had a in-world presence at all.

Even after several months of expanding my stock I still could not afford an in-world garden center on my own and my friend asked me why I was working so hard for pennies. Good question. The answer was I had grown to enjoy the creative pixellated gardening itself. A different  friend asked me why I didn’t open up a Botanical Garden.  Another good question.

I love botanical gardens. When traveling on holiday  I visit them in any city that has one.  I am not a botanist.   I have always admired people who could walk through the woods and name the trees and flowers. I can tell a maple form an oak leaf but until I started  my pixellated garden I could not tell a walnut leaf from an aspen.

I have always thought SL has an enormous potential for education – so why not have a botanical garden and teach some of the things I have leaned

This blog is for Botanica – my virtual botanical garden  A place to use a virtual world to make virtual gardens and teach a few things.

About virtualgardensl

A virtual gardener in second life exploring its educational potential.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pro-log

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

